Crochet jumper #1

A while ago I spotted this on pinterest

See original item here

It a hand crocheted jumper that’s for sale through etsy. At over £500 (add another couple hundred for my size) it’s well out of my price range. Now, I’m not arguing that the price is too high, nor that the materials, time and expertise that have gone into making this aren’t worth it. I’m simply saying that I can’t afford to pay that much for an item of clothing, heck my wedding dress wasn’t that much!

On the other hand, I do have the expertise and time, to make something similar. I wouldn’t want to make mine the same as this one, that would be plagiarism for one thing, and for another, why would I want mine to be the same as someone else’s when mine can be unique?

As I had cotton dk yarn left over from the tea flower shawl, I decided to top up with a few other colours and set too.

Most of the body will be boring panels like these:

These are worked over a 3 + 1 repeat, more or less the same as doing filet crochet, using UK abbreviation, main pattern is ch5 [for 1tr & 2ch] (tr in next tr, ch 2) rpt until last stitch, tr in 3rd chain of 5 from previous row. Simples (insert :meerkat: smiley here).

I have managed two slightly more fancy pieces as well. A blue one to use on an edge somewhere

Don’t know why but the photo is upside down. I might fix it later, I might not 😂

And a grey square

Did this one in a single afternoon. Amazing what happens when I sit and concentrate

The patterns for both these sections were freely available on the internet. I’ll try and track them down again so I can link them properly.

Yes, I know all the blocks are a bit wonky, they all need finishing off and blocking. I often don’t bother with blocking, but will need to with this one, before I put everything together, to ensure I get the right finished size.

I won’t show all the plain blocks I do, but I will show you all the fancy ones and any embellishments I make. I’m planning on some more ‘granny’ type squares, maybe another lacy edging piece and plenty of flowers and butterflies, maybe another minibeast or 2. 🤷🏻‍♀️ eh, we’ll see what happens as it grows.

With the research, planning, sampling and writing up I have to do for my A level, allowing this to be ‘organic’ in its evolution is a good foil and enjoyable.